عن الحالة

الساد هو حدوث إعتام وضبابية في العدسة الطبيعية للعين. تشكل العدسة جزءاً من الآلية التي تقوم بها العين بالتركيز وعادة ما تكون شفافة في سن الشباب. تكون هذه العدسة صافية في العين الطبيعية. كما أنها تساعد على تركيز أشعة الضوء على الشبكية الموجودة في الجزء الخلفي من العين، والتي ترسل إلى الدماغ رسائل من شأنها أن تسمح لنا بالرؤية. عندما تصبح العدسة ضبابية وتمنع أشعة الضوء من المرور إلى شبكية العين، تسمى الحالة عندها بالساد أو إعتام عدسة العين.

يتشكل الساد عادةً ببطء ويعاني الناس من ضبابية تدريجية في الرؤية


الأسباب

العمر هو السبب الأكثر شيوعاً للساد، ويصاب معظم الناس به مع تقدّمهم في السن. تشتمل الأسباب الأخرى لحدوث الساد أو تطور الإصابة به في سن مبكرة على بعض الأدوية مثل الكورتيزون وبعض الحالات الطبية مثل السكري وقصر البصر الشديد والجراحة السابقة في العيون والرضوض وغيرها.


الحالات المرتبطة 

  • مرض السكري
  • جراحة سابقة في العين
  • رضوض سابقة للعين
  • حدوث الساد بشكل عائلي

الأعراض

تشمل أعراض الساد عدم وضوح الرؤية وصعوبة في التباين البصري، وخاصة بين درجات الألوان، والتغيير المتكرر للنظارات الموصوفة طبياً والوهج أو انتثار الضوء.


الفحص / التشخيص

يتم تشخيص الساد بعد إجراء الفحص من قبل طبيب العيون بواسطة المجهر الضوئي الشقّي في العيادة. قد يحتاج المريض إلى قطرات موسّعة لتوسيع بؤبؤ العين لفحص العدسة بدقة. وربما يلزم أيضاً إجراء فحوصات إضافية لشبكية العين بالإضافة إلى فحوصات الانكسار من أجل النظارات.


الاستقصاءات 

بمجرد تشخيص الحالة، قد يُطلب من المريض إجراء اختبارات لفحص القرنية (بواسطة جهاز التصوير بنتاكام)، ولتحديد قوة العدسة البديلة (بواسطة مقياس العين الحيوي)، ولمسح الشبكية للكشف عن أي أمراض فيها أيضاً (بواسطة التصوير المقطعي للتماسك البصريOCT)

 

العلاج

لا يوجد علاج دوائي للساد (أي ليس هناك قطرات أو أدوية). في المراحل المبكرة، إذا لم تكن الرؤية قد تأثرت، فيمكن مراقبة الساد مع استعمال نظارات واقية من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية. ولكن بمجرد أن تتأثر الرؤية، فإن الخيار الوحيد هو الجراحة. لحسن الحظ، تعدّ جراحة الساد بسيطة جداً وناجحة. تستغرق العملية حوالي 20-30 دقيقة ويتم إجراؤها في معظم الأحيان تحت التخدير الموضعي. ويمكن استخدام التركين أو التخدير العام في بعض الحالات. يتم تفكيك العدسة الطبيعية التي أصبحت ضبابية الآن إلى قطع صغيرة باستخدام طاقة الموجات فوق الصوتية وتتم إزالتها من العين. يتم وضع عدسة اصطناعية في العين لاستبدال العدسة الطبيعية. هناك خيارات مختلفة للعدسة وسيناقش معك الطبيب ما هو الخيار الأفضل بالنسبة لك (أحادية البؤرة، ثلاثية البؤر، حلقية). يبلغ معدل نجاح الجراحة حوالي 99٪ دون حدوث أي مضاعفات.  تعدّ مخاطر جراحة الساد قليلة للغاية ومن النادر جداً أن تؤدي إلى فقدان الرؤية.

احجز موعد

About

Cataract is the clouding of the natural lens of the eye. The lens forms part of the focusing mechanism of the eye and is usually transparent in young age. In a normal eye, this lens is clear. It helps focus light rays on to the back of the eye, the retina, which sends messages to the brain allowing us to see. When the lens becomes cloudy and prevents the light rays from passing to the retina the condition is called cataract.

Cataracts usually form slowly and people experience a gradual blurring of vision


Causes

Age is the most common cause of cataract and most people will develop cataract as they grow older. Other causes of cataract or the development of cataract at an earlier age include medical conditions like diabetes, certain medications like corticosteroids, high myopia, previous eye surgery, trauma etc.


Conditions associated

  • Diabetes mellitus
  • Previous eye surgery
  • Previous trauma to the eye
  • Familial cataract

Symptoms

Symptoms for cataract include blurring of vision, difficulty in contrast especially shades of colours, frequent change in the glasses prescription, glare or light scatter


Examination/Diagnosis

The diagnosis of cataract is made after examination by the ophthalmologist on the slit lamp in clinic. Patient may need dilating drops to open up the pupil to examine the lens thoroughly. Additional testing of the retina may also be needed as well as refraction for glasses.


Investigation

Once the diagnosis is made, the patient may be asked to have tests to examine the cornea ( pentacam) , to determine the strength of the replacement lens ( biometry) and a retina scan to look for retinal conditions as well ( OCT)


Treatment

There is no medical treatment for cataract (no drops or medications). In an early stage if your vision is not affected, then cataract can be left alone till symptoms develop. However, once the vision is affected, the only option is surgery. Fortunately, cataract surgery is very straight forward and successful. It takes about 20-30 minutes and is most often done with local anesthesia. Sedation or general anaesthesia can be used in some situations. The natural lens which is now cloudy is broken into small pieces using ultrasound energy and removed from the eye. An artificial lens is put into the eye to replace the natural lens. Different options for the lens are available and your doctor will discuss what is best for you (monofocal, trifocal, toric). Success rate of surgery if about 99% without any complications.  Risks of cataract surgery are very small and very rarely can you lose vision.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT