الحالة

إجراء طبي للمريض الذي يعاني القرنية المخروطية تفادياً لتدهور الحالة. ينجح تصليب القرنية في منع تدهور ما نسبته 90 في المائة من الحالات.  تسوء حالة القرنية المخروطية مع ضعف القرنية. تصليب القرنية هو إجراء طبي يشتمل على استعمال الضوء فوق البنفسجي وفيتامين ب2 (الريبوفلافين) في علاج القرنية.  ويسهمان معاً في تصليب القرنية بمزيد من الإحكام.  يحاكي هذا العلاج حالة تصلب القرنية وفق العمر، أو ما يُعرف بالتصليب الطبيعي


الحالات المرتبطة

القرنية المخروطية

القرنية المخروطية تنحيف تدريجي لسمك القرنية. القرنية هي النافذة الأمامية الشفافة للعين، والتي تعمل مع العدسة داخل العين على تركيز الضوء في الشبكية.  عادة ما تكون للقرنية بنية ناعمة مستديرة على شكل قبة. ولكن في حالة القرنية المخروطية تصبح رقيقة جداً وغير منتظمة وتبدأ في البروز من المركز أو أسفل المركز مثل مخروط. وتسبب رؤية غائمة غالباً ما لا يتم تصحيحها بشكل كامل عن طريق النظارة.


الأسباب

سبب الإصابة بالقرنية المخروطية يختلف من مريض لآخر، على الرغم من أن هناكَ اعتقاداً بأن الحالة تنطوي على بعض العوامل الوراثية والبيئية. كما يمكن أن تعزى إلى فرك العين بصورة مستمرة.


العلاج بتصليب القرنية

يُنصح بهذا العلاج فقط للمرضى الذين تظهر فحوصاتهم أن حالة القرنية المخروطية لديهم تزداد سوءاً، أو لأولئك المعرضين لخطر تدهور القرنية المخروطية، مثل الأطفال.   نظراً لارتباط التصليب الطبيعي بالعمر، عادةً ما يتوقف تدهور حالة القرنية المخروطية في منتصف الثلاثينيات من عمر المريض، لذا لا يكون إجراء التصليب مطلوباً في المعتاد للمريض الأكبر سناً.

هذا العلاج من النوع طفيف التوغل وفيه تغرس قطرات التخدير الموضعي حتى لا تكون العملية مؤلمة. تغرس قطرات فيتامين ب2(ريبوفلافين) أكثر من مرة بينما تسلط الأشعة فوق البنفسجية على القرنية لمدة تتراوح بين 10 إلى 30 دقيقة. يقوي هذا العلاج القرنية ويبطئ أو يمنع تطور المرض. يرمي العلاج إلى تحسين الإبصار ولكن تبقى هناك حاجة إلى استخدام النظارة أو العدسات اللاصقة، ولكن بعض حالات القرنية المخروطية تتحسن قليلاً مع العلاج. يمكن تطبيق تصليب القرنية مع إجراء علاجي آخر أو عقبه، ومن ذلك زرع الحلقة القرنية أو علاج الليزر لنقاط في سطح القرنية.

احجز موعد

About

Corneal cross-linking (CXL) is a treatment for patients with keratoconus which can prevent their condition getting worse. CXL is successful in preventing the condition deteriorating in more than 90% of cases. Keratoconus worsens as the cornea weakens. CXL uses ultraviolet light and vitamin B2 (riboflavin) drops to harden the cornea. Together, they cause fibers within the cornea to cross-link – or bond more firmly. This treatment emulates the normal age-related hardening of the cornea, which is known as natural cross-linking


Conditions associated 

Keratoconus 

Keratoconus is a progressive thinning of the cornea. The cornea is the clear front window of the eye, which, along with the intra-ocular lens, focuses light on to the retina. The cornea normally is a smooth, round dome-shaped structure; however in keratoconus it becomes very thin and irregular and it starts to protrude from the centre or below the centre like a cone. This causes blurry vision that is often not completely correctable with glasses.

Causes

Keratoconus is multifactorial in origin but there is a strong genetic component which makes it more frequent in certain parts of the world or within certain families. . it can also be related to frequent eye rubbing which leads it  to be more progressive.


CXL treatment 

The treatment is recommended only for patients whose scans show that their keratoconus is getting worse, or for those who are at particularly at high risk of their keratoconus deteriorating such as children. Because of natural cross-linking with age, keratoconus usually stops getting worse by the mid-30s, so CXL is not normally required for older patients.

This treatment is minimally invasive and local anesthesia drops are instilled so that the procedure is not painful. Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin) drops are instilled frequently while the ultraviolet light is applied on the cornea for 10-30 minutes. This treatment strengthens the cornea and slows down or prevents the progression of the disease. The treatment aims to improve the vision and the need for glasses or contact lenses will still be required, however some keratoconus cases can improve slightly with the treatment. The corneal cross linkage procedure can be combined with other corneal procedures in parallel or in sequence such as intracorneal ring implant or specific map surface laser.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT