حول الموضوع

اعتلال الشبكية السكري هو أحد مضاعفات مرض السكري غير المضبوط وارتفاع نسبة السكر في الدم بشكل مستمر على مدى عدة سنوات، مما يؤدي إلى حدوث مرض في شبكية العين يمكنه أن يؤثر على قدرتها على نقل الصور إلى الدماغ من خلال العصب البصري.

تلعب الأوعية الدموية الموجودة في الشبكية دوراً مهماً في تزويدها بالأكسجين والمواد المغذية، مما يحافظ على سلامتها وفعاليتها.

يمكن أن يؤدي اعتلال الشبكية السكري إلى تلف في الأوعية الدموية، والتي قد تتعرض للنزيف أو الارتشاح أو الانسداد، مما يؤدي إلى أذية الخلايا في شبكية العين بحدّ ذاتها.

هناك أشكال ومستويات مختلفة لاعتلال الشبكية السكري. فعلى سبيل المثال، عندما تتعرض شبكية العين للتلف، قد تنمو أوعية دموية جديدة فيها لدرجة انفجارها، مما يؤدي إلى نزيف وعدم وضوح الرؤية. في حال حدوث اعتلال البقعة السكري (البقعة هي المنطقة المركزية من شبكية العين)، يكون المرض قد بلغ مرحلة أكثر تطوراً وشدةً.

ويؤدي ترافق الإصابة بارتفاع ضغط الدم ومرض السكري إلى حالة أكثر خطورة.


أنواع اعتلال الشبكية السكري

  • اعتلال الشبكية السكري غير التكاثري
    بشكل عام، لا يؤثر هذا النوع من اعتلال الشبكية السكري على الرؤية، لأنه لا يكون هناك في المرحلة الأولية سوى عدد قليل من الأوعية الدموية المتضخمة، مع الحد الأدنى من النزيف والارتشاح في شبكية العين.
    من شأن فحص شبكية العين من قِبل طبيب العيون أن يكشف بعض العلامات التي تشير إلى وجود هذه الحالة.
  • اعتلال الشبكية السكري التكاثري
    يمكن أن تؤدي هذه الحالة إلى ضعف البصر بشكل خطير بسبب نمو الأوعية الدموية في شبكية العين والخطر المتمثل بنزيف هذه الأوعية مما قد يؤدي إلى تلف الشبكية، وحتى انفصالها عن الجزء الخلفي من العين. يعدّ العلاج بالليزر ضرورياً لتجنب حدوث تلف خطير طويل الأمد.
  • اعتلال البقعة السكري
    يحدث اعتلال البقعة السكري عند ارتشاح الأوعية الدموية في المنطقة المركزية للشبكية، والتي يمكن أن تسبب تورم البقعة، مما يؤثر على مستوى الرؤية. خيارات العلاج الرئيسية هي عمليات الليزر أو الحقن أو الجراحة.

الأسباب

يعاني العديد من مرضى السكري، وخاصة أولئك الذين يكون لديهم المرض غير مضبوط بحيث يكون هناك ارتفاع في مستويات السكر في الدم لفترات طويلة، من وجود تلف في الأوعية الدموية في شبكية العين، والتي تعدّ النسيج الذي يبطّن الجزء الخلفي من العين ويكشف الضوء ويسمح لنا بالرؤية. يؤدي ذلك إلى الإصابة بمرض يسمى اعتلال الشبكية السكري، والذي يصيب 8 من كل 10 مرضى مصابين بداء السكري لمدة 10 سنوات أو أكثر.


الأعراض

  • بقع أو خطوط عاتمة تظهر في مجال الرؤية (الأجسام العائمة)
  • عدم وضوح الرؤية.
  • رؤية غير ثابتة.
  • اختلال رؤية الألوان.
  • مناطق عاتمة أو فارغة في مجال الرؤية.
  • فقدان البصر.

العلاج

تتوفر خيارات علاجية مختلفة، وأحياناً يتم استخدام مجموعة من عدة علاجات متاحة. وتشمل هذه العلاجات حقن الأدوية داخل الجسم الزجاجي (أدوية مضادة لعامل النمو البطاني الوعائي و / أو الستيرويدات)، والليزر المحيطي التقليدي، والليزر المجهري منخفض الشدة. في الحالات الأكثر شدة التي يحدث فيه اعتلال الشبكية التكاثري أو النزيف داخل الجسم الزجاجي، قد تكون الجراحة هي الخيار الوحيد المتاح.

يؤدي التشخيص المبكر لمضاعفات مرض السكري عموماً إلى تحسين تدبيرها ونتائجها، ولهذا السبب من المهم جداً إجراء فحوصات منتظمة للعين.

احجز موعد

About

Diabetic retinopathy is a complication of uncontrolled diabetes and consistantly high blood sugar over several years, resulting in retinal disease, which can interfere with its ability to transmit images to the brain through the optic nerve.

Blood vessels in the retina play an important role in supplying it with oxygen and nutrients, which keep it healthy and working effectively.

Diabetic Retinopathy can result in damage to the blood vessels; these may then bleed, leak or become blocked leading to cell damage in the retina itself.

There are varying forms and levels of severity of diabetic retinopathy – for example, when the retina becomes damaged, new blood vessels may grow on it and can burst, leading to bleeding and blurred vision. If the macula (the central area of the retina) is affected – this is called Diabetic Maculopathy – the disease has reached a much more advanced and serious stage.

High blood pressure combined with diabetes leads to an even more dangerous condition.


Types of Diabetic Retinopathy

  • Non Proliferative Diabetic Retinopathy
    Generally, this type of diabetic retinopathy does not affect vision because at the initial stage there are just a few enlarged blood vessels, with very minimal bleeding and leaking in the retina.
    An examination of the retina by an ophthalmologist will reveal some marks indicating the presence of the condition.
  • Proliferative Diabetic Retinopathy
    This condition can lead to seriously impaired vision as blood vessels grow in the retina and the threat is bleeding from these vessels which can lead to retinal damage, and even to retinal detachment at the back of the eye. Laser treatment is essential to avoid serious long term damage.
  • Diabetic Maculopathy
    Diabetic maculopathy occurs when blood vessels leak into the central area of the retina, which can cause swelling of the macula and affecting the quality of vision. Laser procedures, injections or surgery are the main treatment options.

Causes

Many diabetics, particularly those with poor control over diabetes that results in elevated blood sugar levels over long periods of time, have damaged blood vessels in the retina, the tissue lining the back of the eye that detects light and allows us to see. This results in a condition called diabetic retinopathy, which affects 8 out of 10 patients who have had diabetes for 10 years or longer.


Symptoms 

  • Spots or dark strings floating in your vision (floaters)
  • Blurred vision.
  • Fluctuating vision.
  • Impaired color vision.
  • Dark or empty areas in your vision.
  • Vision loss.

Treatment

Different treatment options are available, and sometimes a combination of the possible treatments is used. These include intravitreal injection of medications (anti VEGF and or steroids), conventional peripheral laser, subthreshold micropulse laser. In more advanced cases, with prolipherative retinopathy or with intravitreal haemorrhages, surgery may be the only possible option. 

Early diagnosis of the complications of diabetes generally leads to better management and better outcomes, and that is why it is vitally important to get regular eye screenings.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT