حول الموضوع

تُنتج العين سائلاً مغذياً يسمى الخلْط المائي. ينتشر هذا السائل حول أنسجة العين ويتم تصريفه عبر قنوات التصريف. يتحقّق ضغط العين “الطبيعي” عندما تتوازن كمية السوائل التي يتم إنتاجها مع كمية السوائل التي يتم تصريفها. إذا لم تكن السوائل في العين “متوازنة”، يرتفع الضغط داخل العين، مما قد يؤدي إلى الزرَق.

إذا تُرك الزرَق دون علاج، فإنه يسبب أضراراً في العصب البصري في الجزء الخلفي من العين، مما يؤدي في النهاية إلى فقدان البصر.


الأسباب

يحدث الزرَق عندما تصبح أنابيب التصريف (الشبكة التربيقية) داخل العين مسدودة قليلاً، مما يمنع السائل الذي تنتجه العين -المعروف باسم الخلْط المائي- من التصريف بشكل طبيعي. ويمكن أن يحدث أيضاً إذا كان هناك انسداد داخل العين، كأن يقوم أحد الأوعية الدموية بسدّ الشبكة التربيقية.

عندما لا يتمكّن السائل من التصريف بشكل صحيح، فإنه يؤدي إلى زيادة الضغط داخل العين مما يسبب حدوث تلف في الأعصاب البصرية والألياف العصبية في شبكية العين.


هناك العديد من العوامل الأخرى التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى حدوث الزرَق، نذكرها فيما يلي:

  • العمر – يصبح الزرَق المزمن أكثر شيوعاً مع تقدّم العمر.
  • الأصل العِرقي – يميل الأشخاص من أصل أفريقي أو من أصل كاريبي أفريقي إلى التعرّض للإصابة بالزرَق المزمن بشكل أكبر. كما أن الأشخاص من أصل آسيوي هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالزرَق الحاد.
  • قصر النظر – الأشخاص الذين يعانون من قصر النظر هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالزرَق المزمن.
  • التاريخ العائلي – يؤدي وجود تاريخ عائلي من الإصابة بالزرَق أيضاً إلى ازدياد احتمال الإصابة بالمرض. يوصى بشدة بفحص العين بشكل منتظم في هذه الحالة.
  • التاريخ الطبي – مرضى السكري هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالزرَق بالمقارنة مع الأشخاص غير المصابين بالسكري.

الأعراض

لا يؤدي الزرَق إلى ظهور الأعراض حتى مراحل متأخرة، عندها قد يسبب أضراراً في مجال الرؤية. وهذا يعني أن حواف الرؤية المحيطية يمكن أن تبدأ بالاختفاء، مما يتسبب بتضييق مجال الرؤية. إذا تأخر العلاج، فقد تؤثر هذه العيوب على الرؤية بشدة ويمكن أن تؤدي إلى الرؤية النفقية.


العلاج

يهدف علاج الزرَق إلى تقليل الضغط داخل العين إما عن طريق المساعدة على تصريف السوائل من العين أو تقليل كمية السوائل التي يتم إنتاجها فيها.

العلاج المعتاد للزرَق هو قطرات العين، ولكن في الحالات التي يكون المرض لا يتجاوب مع القطرات، فقد يلزم إجراء العلاج من خلال الجراحة أو الليزر.


الجراحة

التحويلة المائية

التحويلة المائية هي عبارة عن جهاز يستخدم لتقليل ضغط العين في حالة الزرَق عن طريق تصريف الخلْط المائي (السائل الطبيعي في العين) من داخل العين إلى فقاعة صغيرة خلف الجفن. إن تصريف الخلْط المائي بواسطة تحويلة يقلل من الضغط على العصب البصري، والذي يسبب فقدان الرؤية في الزرَق. يتمثل الهدف من خفض ضغط العين في منع فقدان المزيد من الرؤية. إن السيطرة على ضغط العين باستخدام التحويلة المائية لن يعيد الرؤية التي تم فقدانها بالفعل بسبب الزرَق. هناك أسماء أخرى مختلفة للتحويلة المائية مثل زرعة الأنبوب، وتحويلة أنبوب الزرَق، وجهاز تصريف الزرَق، وزرعة تصريف الزرَق. كل هذه الأسماء تشير إلى الشيء نفسه. وعلى الرغم من توفر أنواع كثيرة من التحويلات، إلا أن هناك نوعان رئيسيان قيد الاستخدام في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون ويعملان بطريقة مماثلة.

يسمّى هذان النوعان صمام أحمد للزرَق (Ahmed Glaucoma Valve) وزرعة بيرفلدت للزرَق. وفي أمراض عينية معينة، يمكن أيضاً استخدام نوع ثالث، يُعرف باسم زرعة مولتينو.

الاستطباب:

  • مرضى الزرَق المتقدم الذين يعانون من أمراض عينية مصاحبة أخرى
  • المرضى الذين خضعوا لجراحات زرَق تقليدية أخرى لم تعد فعالة
  • المرضى الذين يعانون من الحساسية والآثار الجانبية للقطرات العينية

قطع التربيق المعزز

قطع التربيق هو عملية جراحية تُفتح قناة تصريف بديلة، لمساعدة الخلْط المائي (السائل الطبيعي في العين) على التصريف من العين. تؤدي هذه العملية إلى إنشاء مجازة للتصريف الطبيعي المسدود (الشبكة التربيقية) في العين. ينخفض ​​ضغط العين لأن تصريف السوائل يمكن أن يتم الآن بسهولة أكبر من خلال قناة التصريف التي تم إنشاؤها حديثاً.

الاستطباب:

  • المرضى المصابون بالزرَق المتقدم الذي يستمر بالتطور على الرغم من استخدام الأدوية
  • المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى ضغط منخفض لوقف تطور الزرَق
  • المرضى الذين يعانون من الحساسية والآثار الجانبية للقطرات العينية


جراحة الزرَق المجهرية

إن الاهتمام الحديث المتزايد بجراحة الزرَق يتوجّه نحو جراحة الزرَق المجهرية (MIGS) مع الحصول على نتائج مذهلة في حالات الزرَق الخفيف إلى المتوسط. تم تصميم هذا النوع من الجراحة لتحسين سلامة التدخل الجراحي للزرَق. وعلى الرغم من أن المصطلح في البداية كان هو الحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي، إلا أن مصطلح التدخل الجراحي المجهري يبدو أكثر ملاءمة، لأنه يميز فعلاً بين هذه الإجراءات العينية المجهرية والعمليات الجراحية الأخرى بالحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي (أي الجراحة العامة). تقوم معظم جراحات الزرَق المجهرية بتعزيز التدفق الفسيولوجي للخارج وتستهدف فئة من المرضى تختلف عن الفئة المستهدفة بجراحة الترشيح التقليدية. وعلى عكس جراحة الترشيح التقليدية، تبدو جراحة الزرَق المجهرية بشكل أكثر على أنها بديل للعلاج الدوائي في محاولة لمواجهة تحديات الأدوية الموضعية فيما يتعلق بالالتزام والتأثيرات الجانبية ونوعية الحياة.

آي ستنت iStent

حصلت دعامة المجازة المجهرية التربيقية آي ستنت iStent (من شركة جلوكوس Glaukos، مدينة لاجونا هيلس، ولاية كاليفورنيا) على موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأميركية عام 2012. الجهاز هو عبارة عن دعامة تيتانيوم غير مغناطيسية حديدية مغطاة بالهيبارين لها شكل أنبوب التنفس لتسهيل عملية الزرع. يتم وضع الجهاز باستخدام أداة إدخال واحدة معقمة تستخدم لمرة واحدة من خلال شق في القرنية بطول 1.5 مم. يعدّ جهاز آي ستنت iStent هو أصغر جهاز معتمد من قِبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأميركية، حيث يبلغ ارتفاعه 0.3 مم وطوله 1 مم. ويعتبر جهاز آي ستنت iStent من العمليات الجراحية المجهرية الآمنة للزرَق، ويمكنه أن يقلل من الحاجة إلى الاستخدام اليومي لقطرات الزرَق العينية. يتم إدخال دعامة تصريف صغيرة من التيتانيوم (1 مم) في قناة التصريف الطبيعية في العين لتقليل الضغط داخلها. وأثبتت معظم التجارب السريرية إلى أن زرع آي ستنت iStent مع استحلاب العدسة بجهاز الفاكو يؤدي إلى انخفاض ملحوظ وطويل الأمد في الضغط داخل العين وعدد الأدوية المستخدمة بالمقارنة مع استحلاب العدسة فقط. ولم يتم الإبلاغ عن أي مضاعفات كبيرة.

زرعة إكس إي إن XEN

تم إعداد زرعة إكس إي إن XEN للزرَق (زرعة أكواسيس AqueSys) من قِبل شركة أكواسيس AqueSys التي استحوذت عليها شركة أليرجان Allergan. تتكون الزرعة نفسها من جيلاتين طري مشتق من الكولاجين ومعروف بأنه غير التهابي. تهدف دعامة إكس إي إن جل XEN Gel إلى تقليل ضغط العين عن طريق إدخال أنبوب تصريف صغير إلى العين. تسمح الدعامة للسائل بالتصريف من الحجرة الأمامية إلى خزان (فقاعة) تحت الملتحمة. يتمثل الهدف من عملية الزرع في إنشاء مسار لتصريف الخلْط المائي من الحجرة الأمامية إلى الفراغ تحت الملتحمة. يتم حقن الزرعة من خلال شق صغير في القرنية باستخدام أداة إدخال مماثلة لتلك المستخدمة في إدخال العدسات داخل العين. وعلى غرار الزرعات الأخرى، يمكن إجراء هذه العملية مع جراحة الساد. 

تقوم جميع التحويلات تقريباً بنفس الوظيفة المتمثلة بخفض ضغط العين. ومن المهم الإشارة إلى أنه لا يوجد علاج مضمون للتخلص بشكل كامل من الحاجة إلى قطرات العين، ولكن النتائج القوية التي يتم الحصول عليها عند استخدام آي ستنت Istent أو دعامة إكس إي إن جل XEN Gel Stent تمنح المرضى المناسبين خياراً قوياً للغاية للتخلص من الحاجة إليها.

الاستطباب:

  • المرضى الذين يعانون من زرَق خفيف إلى متوسط
  • لتقليل الاعتماد على القطرات


الليزر

قطع القزحية المحيطي

يستخدم هذا العلاج الليزري ليزر ياج YAG لإجراء ثقب مجهري في القزحية المحيطية للمساعدة في مرور السوائل مما يؤدي إلى تحسن بنيوي في الوصول إلى الشبكة التربيقية، والتي تعدّ شبكة التصريف في العين، مما يساعد السائل على المرور ويقلل من خطر حدوث الزرَق مغلق الزاوية. لا تتطلب هذه العملية دخول المستشفى ويتم إجراؤها في قسم العيادات الخارجية.

الاستطباب:

  • المرضى الذين يعانون من الزرَق مغلق أو ضيق الزاوية
  • لمنع حدوث الزرَق الحاد مغلق الزاوية عند المرضى الذين لديهم زوايا ضيقة والمعرضين للخطر

العلاج الليزري الانتقائي للشبكة التربيقية

يعتبر العلاج الليزري الانتقائي للشبكة التربيقية (SLT) خياراً علاجياً آمناً سريعاً بسيطاً غير جائر يستخدم لعلاج الزرَق. ويعمل عن طريق تقليل الضغط داخل العين. ضغط العين هو نفسه الضغط داخل العين ويشار إليه في اللغة الإنجليزية اختصاراً بـ (IOP). لا تتطلب هذه العملية دخول المستشفى ويتم إجراؤها في قسم العيادات الخارجية.

الاستطباب:

  • خفض ضغط العين دون استخدام القطرات

العلاج بليزر الصمام الثنائي الحلقي المجهري

الاستطباب:

  • المرضى الذين تكون جراحة الزرَق التقليدية لديهم خطرة
  • للمساعدة في تقليل عبء القطرات

إن ليزر الصمام الثنائي هو عبارة عن شعاع شديد التركيز من الضوء، والذي يمكن استخدامه لاستهداف وعلاج منطقة محددة. في كثير من الأحيان، يوصى بالعلاج بالليزر لتجنب الحاجة إلى إجراء عمليات ذات تدخل جراحي أكبر. يُستخدم ليزر الصمام الثنائي لإجراء حروق صغيرة جداً في الجسم الهدبي، والذي يقوم بإنتاج السائل المائي المسمى بالخلْط المائي، ويقع خلف القزحية (الجزء الملون من العين).

احجز موعد

About

The eye produces a nourishing fluid called the aqueous humour. This fluid circulates around the tissues of the eye and drains away through outflow channels. ‘Normal’ Eye pressure is when the amount of fluid produced is balanced by the amount of fluid draining away. If the fluid in the eyes is not ‘balanced’ then the pressure inside the eye rises and this can lead to a glaucoma.

Glaucoma, if left untreated, causes damage to the optic nerve at the back of the eye, ultimately resulting in loss of vision.


Causes

Glaucoma occurs when the drainage tubes (trabecular meshwork) within the eye become slightly blocked, preventing the fluid which is produced by the eye – known as the aqueous humour – from draining normally . It can also occur if there is an obstruction within the eye such as a blood vessel blocking the trabecular meshwork.

When the fluid cannot drain properly, it results in increased pressure inside the eye which can cause damage to the optic nerves, and the nerve fibers from the retina.


There are various other factors that can lead to glaucoma. These are listed below.

  • Age – chronic glaucoma becomes more common with age.
  • Ethnic origin – people of African, or Afro-Caribbean origin, tend to have a greater chance of developing chronic glaucoma. Also, people of Asian origin are more likely to develop acute glaucoma.
  • Short sightedness – short-sighted people are more likely to develop chronic glaucoma.
  • Family history – Having a Family history of Glaucoma also have increases the chances developing the condition. Regular eye screening is highly recommended in this case.
  • Medical history – Diabetics are more likely to develop glaucoma than those without the condition.

Symptoms

Glaucoma does not present symptoms until late stages, when it can cause damage to your field of vision. This means that the edge of your peripheral vision can start to disappear causing your vision to narrow. It treatment is delayed these defects can severely affect your vision and can cause tunnel vision.


Treatment

Treatment for glaucoma aims to reduce the pressure in the eye either by helping fluid drain away or reduce the amount of fluid being produced.

The usual treatment for glaucoma is eye drops however in cases where it is resistant to drops, treatment through surgery or laser may need to be performed.


Surgery

Aqueous Shunts

Aqueous shunts are devices that are used to reduce the eye pressure in glaucoma by draining the aqueous humour (natural fluid of the eye) from inside the eye to a small blister or bleb behind the eyelid. Draining the aqueous humor, using a shunt, reduces the pressure on the optic nerve that causes loss of vision in glaucoma. The purpose of lowering the eye pressure is to prevent further loss of vision. Control of the eye pressure with an aqueous shunt will not restore vision already lost from glaucoma. Aqueous shunts have various other names such as tube implants, glaucoma tube shunts, glaucoma drainage devices and glaucoma drainage implants. These all refer to the same thing. Although there are many types of shunts available, two main types are in use at Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai and they function in a similar fashion. 
These are called the Ahmed Glaucoma Valve and The Baerveldt Glaucoma Implant. In certain eye conditions, a third type, known as the Molteno Implant, might also be used.
indications

Indication

  • For advanced glaucoma patients with other ocular comorbidities
  • Patients that have had other conventional glaucoma surgery that is no longer efficacious
  • Patients with drops allergy and side effects

Enhanced Trabeculectomy

Trabeculectomy is a surgical operation that creates an alternative drainage channel, to help aqueous fluid (natural fluid of the eye) drain from your eye. This operation creates a bypass for the blocked natural drain (trabecular meshwork) of your eye. Your eye pressure is reduced because fluid can now drain more easily through the newly created drainage channel.

Indication

  • Patients with advanced glaucoma that continues to progress despite medication use
  • Patients that need a low pressure to stop progression of glaucoma
  • Patients with drops allergy and side effects

MIGS

The recent most increased interest in glaucoma surgery has been in Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery (MIGS) with formidable results in mild to moderate glaucoma. These are designed to improve the safety of surgical intervention for glaucoma. Although initially coined minimally invasive, the term micro seems more appropriate because it truly differentiates these microscopic ophthalmic procedures from other minimally invasive surgical procedures (i.e., general surgery). Most MIGS procedures enhance physiologic outflow and are aimed at a different patient population than traditional filtration surgery. As opposed to competing with traditional filtering surgery, MIGS seems to be more of an alternative to medical therapy in an effort to address adherence challenges, adverse events, and qualityof-life (QOL) issues with topical medications.

Istent

The iStent Trabecular Micro-Bypass Stent (Glaukos, Laguna Hills, CA) received FDA approval in 2012. The device is a heparin-coated, non-ferromagnetic titanium stent with a snorkel shape to facilitate implantation. The device is placed using a singleuse, sterile inserter through a 1.5mm corneal incision. The iStent itself is the smallest FDA approved device, measuring at 0.3mm in height and 1mm in length. The iStent is a safe minimally invasive glaucoma surgery (MIGS) procedure that can reduce the need for daily use of glaucoma eye drops. A small (1mm) titanium drainage stent is inserted into the eye’s natural drainage channel to lower intraocular pressure. Most clinical trials concluded that iStent implantation with phacoemulsification resulted in a significantly lower, long-term decrease in IOP and number of medications used compared to phacoemulsification alone. No major complications have been reported.

XEN Implant

The XEN Glaucoma Implant (AqueSys Implant) was created by AqueSys Inc acquired by Allergan. The implant itself is made out of a soft, collagenderived, gelatin that is known to be noninflammatory. The Xen Gel Stent aims to reduce intraocular pressure by inserting a small drainage tube into the eye. The stent allows fluid to drain from the anterior chamber into a reservoir (bleb) under the conjunctiva. The goal of implantation is to create an aqueous humor outflow path from the anterior chamber to the subconjunctival space. The implant is injected through a small corneal incision with the use of an inserter similar to those used for IOLs. Similar to other implants, it can be performed in conjunction with cataract surgery.  

All shunts perform approximately the same function of lowering the eye pressure. It’s important to note that no treatment is guaranteed to completely eliminate the need for eye drops, but the strong results seen in the use of either the Istent or XEN Gel Stent give the right patients a very strong choice for eliminating the need for them.

Indication:

  • Patients with mild to moderate glaucoma
  • To reduce drops dependence

Laser

Peripheral Iridotomy

This laser treatment uses a YAG laser to make a microscopic hole in the peripheral iris to help passage of fluid resulting in a structural improvement in the access to the trabecular meshwork which are the drains of the eye helping the fluid to pass and reducing the risk of angle closure glaucoma. The procedure does not require admission to hospital and is carried out in the outpatients department.

Indication:

  • Patients with closed or narrow angle glaucoma
  • To prevent angle closure acute glaucoma in patients that have narrow angles and are at risk

Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty

Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT) is a safe, quick, simple and non-invasive treatment option used to treat glaucoma. It works by reducing the pressure inside the eye. The eye pressure is known as intraocular pressure (IOP). The procedure does not require admission to hospital and is carried out in the outpatients department.

Indication:

  • Reduction in eye pressure without the use of drops

Micropulse Cyclodiode Laser Treatment

Indication:

  • Patients where conventional glaucoma surgery is risky
  • To help reduce drops burden

The diode laser is a highly concentrated beam of light, which can be used to target and treat a selected area. Often, laser treatment is recommended in order to avoid the need for more invasive surgery. The diode laser is used to produce very small burns in the ciliary body, which produces the watery fluid called aqueous humour, and is situated behind the iris (coloured part of your eye). 

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT