حول الموضوع

قصر النظر هو عيب انكساري شائع. يمكن للأشخاص الذين يعانون من قصر النظر رؤية الأشياء القريبة بوضوح ولكنهم يرون الأجسام البعيدة بشكل غير واضح. يحدث قصر النظر عندما تركّز القرنية والعدسة الضوء أمام الشبكية عوضاً عن تركيزه مباشرة على سطحها.، لأن العين تكون أكبر بقليل مما يجب. 


الأسباب

تساهم عدة عوامل في حدوث قصر النظر. يميل قصر النظر لأن يحدث بشكل عائلي، ولكن تلعب العوامل البيئية دوراً كبيراً أيضاً. يحدث قصر النظر عند مرحلة البلوغ عادةً، لكنه يمكن أن يحدث في أي عمر، اعتباراً من الطفولة الأولى.

هناك اعتقاد خاطئ شائع بأن قصر النظر يزول من تلقاء نفسه مع التقدم بالعمر.  وعلى الرغم من أن المرضى الذين يعانون من درجة منخفضة من قصر النظر يمكنهم القراءة بدون نظارات طوال حياتهم، إلا أن رؤيتهم للأشياء البعيدة تظل ضعيفة.


الأعراض  

  • صعوبة في رؤية الأشياء البعيدة بشكل واضح
  • إغماض العين بشكل جزئي في أحيان كثيرة
  • تقريب الكتب أو الأشياء الأخرى إلى العينين

العلاج

يتم علاج قصر النظر عادةً بالنظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة التي من شأنها أن تعوّض عن الشكل الطويل للعين، مما يسمح للضوء بالتركيز بشكل صحيح وسقوطه على شبكية العين. تعد الجراحة الانكسارية (مثل الليزك وتقنية بي آر كي PRK وغيرها) خياراً ناجحاً جداً يقضي على الحاجة إلى النظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة.

احجز موعد

About

Myopia is a common refractive condition commonly referred to as near or short sightedness. People with Myopia can see near objects clearly but distant objects are blurry. Myopia occurs when the cornea and lens focus the light in front of the retina instead of exactly on it, usually because the eye is a little larger than it should be.  


Causes

Several factors probably combine to cause myopia. There is a tendency for myopia to run in families, however, environmental factors play a big role too. Myopia usually appears around puberty, but can appear at any age from early childhood.
A widely held misconception is that myopia corrects itself with age.  Although patients with low-level myopia can read without glasses throughout life, their distance vision remains poor.


Symptoms

  • Difficulty seeing distant objects clearly 
  • Squinting frequently 
  • Holding books or other objects very close to the face

Treatment

Myopia is usually treated with eyeglasses or contact lenses which compensate for the elongated shape of the eye allowing the light to focus properly on the retina. Refractive surgery (such as LASIK, PRK among others) is another very successful option that eliminates dependency on glasses or contact lenses.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT