عن الحالة

تبدّل إنحلالي يصيب إحدى أو كلتا العينين لدى الكثير من الناس بُعَيد منتصف العمر.  وقد يطرأ قبل ذلك لدى المصابين بقصر البصر أو الذين تعرّضوا لرضّة في العين.

تلقي سماكة الهلام بظلال على شبكية العين ويبدو كأنك ترى أجساماً طافية أمام عينيك. تتحرك هذه الأجسام الطافية السوداء في بصرك مع حركة العين ثم تستقر أثناء توقف العين.  وكثيراً ما يصفها المريض بأنها “نسيج عنكبوت” أو “حشرات”.

قد ترى أضواء وامضة أيضاً، مثل وميض ضئيل في المحيط الخارجي للعين. وعادة ما لا يؤشر ذلك إلى وجود مشكلة، ومع ذلك من المهم أن يتم فحص العين بدقة، حيث قد يظهر أحياناً تمزق في شبكية العين أو انفصال في الشبكية.


الأسباب

المكون الأساسي للهلام الزجاجي في العين هو الماء. مع التقدم في العمر، تتشكل جيوب صغيرة داخل الهلام مما يؤدي إلى قطع الألياف الدقيقة التي تربطه بشبكية العين وتتسبب في انسحابه من الشبكية والعصب البصري. ونتيجة لذلك، قد يحدث تمزق في شبكية العين أو ثقب في عصب العين.
تحدث هذه الحالة في الغالب لمن تجاوز سن الخمسين، وهي أكثر شيوعاً بعد سن الثمانين.


الأعراض

تلقي سماكة الهلام بظلال على شبكية العين ويبدو كأنك ترى أجساماً طافية أمام عينيك. تتحرك هذه الأجسام الطافية السوداء في بصرك مع حركة العين ثم تستقر أثناء توقف العين.  وكثيراً ما يصفها المريض بأنها “نسيج عنكبوت” أو “حشرات”.

قد ترى أضواء وامضة أيضاً، مثل وميض ضئيل في المحيط الخارجي للعين. وعادة ما لا يؤشر ذلك إلى وجود مشكلة، ومع ذلك من المهم أن يتم فحص العين بدقة، حيث قد يظهر أحياناً تمزق في شبكية العين أو انفصال في الشبكية.


العلاج

لا يوجد علاج للانفصال الزجاجي الخلفي. تختفي الأجسام الطافية بعد بضعة أشهر في المعتاد، ولكن في بعض الأحيان يتبقى بعضها.  ومع الوقت، تبدأ عينك في إهمال وجودها.


الفحص

يتم توسيع بؤبؤ العين بالقطرة. يفحص الطبيب حافة شبكية العين بحثاً عن تمزق فيها. يمكن إجراء الفحص بعدة أنواع من الأدوات. قد يضع الطبيب عدسات لاصقة خاصة وقد يجري إزاحة على الجزء الخارجي من العين.

احجز موعد

test123 Posterior Vitreous Detachment - Moorfields Eye Hospitals UAE

About

Posterior Vitreous Detachment (PVD) is a common degenerative change, which affects one or both eyes in many people after middle age. It may present earlier in shortsighted patients or those who have sustained traumas to the eyes.

Thickening of the jelly casts shadows on the retina and are seen as floating shapes. These black “floaters “in your vision move with the eye and then settle as the eye rests. These are often described by patients as a “cobweb” or “insects”.

You may also be aware of flashing lights, like little flickers in the outer periphery. Usually these do not highlight a problem, however, it is important to have the eye thoroughly checked, as occasionally a retinal tear or a retinal detachment may occur.


Causes 

The vitreous gel in the eye is mostly made up of water. With age, small pockets can form inside the gel leading the tiny fibers that hold it to the retina to break and cause it to pull away from the retina and the optic nerve. As a result, a tear may occur in the retina or a hole in the nerve of the eye.

Majority of people get PVD at age 50 or older, and it is most common after the age of 80. 


Symptoms 

Thickening of the jelly casts shadows on the retina and are seen as floating shapes. These black “floaters” in your vision move with the eye and then settle as the eye rests. These are often described by patients as “cobwebs” or insects”.

You may also be aware of flashing lights, like little flickers in the outer periphery vision. Usually these do not highlight a problem, however, it is important to have the eye thoroughly checked, as occasionally a retinal tear or a retinal detachment may occur.


Treatment

There is no treatment required for posterior vitreous detachment. The floaters usually disappear after a few months, however, sometimes there will be a few residual floaters left behind. In time, you will start taking less notice of them and learn to ignore them.


Examination 

Your pupil will be dilated with drops. The doctors will view the edge of the retina to look for a retinal tear. The examinations may be carried out with several types of instruments. The Doctor may also apply a special contact lens and might exert an indentation on the outer part of the eye.