حول الموضوع

البقعة هي الجزء المركزي من الشبكية الموجودة في الجزء الخلفي من العين. وتعدّ مسؤولة عن الرؤية الدقيقة (القراءة والكتابة ومشاهدة التلفزيون والتعرف على الوجوه). قد يُصاب مرضى السكري بوذمة في البقعة (تورم في الشبكية) بسبب ارتشاح السوائل من الأوعية الدموية مما قد يؤدي إلى عدم وضوح الرؤية.

الوذمة البقعية السكرية

تعدّ أمراض العين الناجمة عن داء السكري هي السبب الرئيسي للعمى. تحدث هذه الأمراض بسبب تغيرات في الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة لشبكية العين (الطبقة الحساسة للضوء في الجزء الخلفي من العين). في الوذمة البقعية السكرية، تقوم الأوعية الدموية بتسريب السوائل إلى شبكية العين.


الأسباب

يُصاب الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض السكري لفترة طويلة -ثلثهم تقريباً- بالوذمة البقعية السكرية.

  • سكر الدم غير المضبوط بشكل جيد
  • ارتفاع ضغط الدم
  • ارتفاع مستويات الكوليسترول
  • التدخين

التشخيص

قد يتم اكتشاف الوذمة البقعية السكرية أثناء فحوصات العين السنوية. قد تُظهر الصور الرقمية لشبكية العين علامات على وجود وذمة بقعية سكرية مبكرة. في المراحل المبكرة، قد لا يتم ملاحظة الأعراض أو العلامات من خلال الرؤية، لذلك يوصى بفحص العين بشكل سنوي للكشف عنها مبكراً وعلاجها.


العلاج

يوصى بإجراء ثلاث حقن يفصل بين كل منها شهر واحد. يتم إجراء العملية بتقنية خاصة في بيئة نظيفة ومعقمة. يتم تنظيف العين وتطبيق تخدير موضعي للعين.

يمكن تغطية العين أو عدم تغطيتها بعد عملية الحقن. في حال وضع ضماد، يمكن إزالته عند الوصول إلى المنزل.

احجز موعد

About

The macula is the central part of the retina at the back of the eye. It is responsible for fine vision (reading, writing, watching television, and recognising faces). Patients with diabetes may develop macular oedema (swelling of the retina) due to leaking of fluid from blood vessels which can result in the vision becoming blurred.

Diabetic macular oedema

Diabetic eye disease is a leading cause of blindness. It is caused by changes to the tiny blood vessels of the retina (the light sensitive layer at the back of the eye). In diabetic macular oedema, blood vessels leak fluid into the retina.


Causes 

People who have had diabetes for a long time–about one in three – will develop diabetic macular oedema.

  • poorly controlled blood sugars
  • high blood pressure
  • high cholesterol levels
  • Smoking

Diagnosis

Diabetic macula oedema may be detected during annual eye screenings. Digital photographs of the retina may show signs of early diabetic macular oedema. At an early stage, symptoms or signs may not be noticed in the vision therefore, annual eye screenings are recommended to detect it early and being treatment.


Treatment

A course of three injections is recommended with each injection administered one month apart. The procedure is carried out in a clean environment using sterile technique. The eye is cleaned and local anaesthetic drops are given to numb the eye.

The eye may or may not be covered after the injection. If a pad is applied, this may be removed when you reach home.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT