عن الحالة

اعتلال الشبكية لدى الخدّج هي مشكلة في العيون تؤثر على المواليد الخدّج. ويصاب الطفل بهذه المشكلة عندما لا يكتمل تطور الشبكية لديه في الأسابيع اللاحقة لولادته.  نتيجة للولادة المبكرة، فقد تتشكل أوعية دموية غير طبيعية تتصف بهشاشة جدرانها وقابليتها للتسريب، كما تؤدي إلى إحداث ندوب في الشبكية ونزعها من مكانها.  تؤدي هذه الحالة إلى انفصال الشبكية الذي يعتبر السبب الرئيسي في اعتلال الرؤية والعمى المرتبط بها. 

بعض حالات الإصابة باعتلال الشبكية لدى الخدّج طفيفة ولا تحتاج إلى أي علاج. ولكن هناك حالات شديدة تستدعي التدخل الجراحي لمنع فقدان البصر.  وهناك الجراحة بواسطة الليزر لمنع نمو الأوعية الدموية المختلة وضمان ألا يحدث انفصال الشبكية. 

ليس لاعتلال الشبكية لدى الأطفال الخدّج علامات أو أعراض، والطريقة الوحيدة للتحقق من الحالة هي فحص أخصائي طب عيون مؤهل لعيون حديثي الولادة.


تصنيف اعتلال الشبكية لدى الأطفال الخدّج

يصنف اعتلال الشبكية لدى الأطفال الخدّج وفق مدى خطورته، إلى

  • مراحل (0 إلى 5)
  • موقعه في 3 مناطق (1 – 3)
  • مدى المرض وفق الساعات (1 – 12)
  • وجود مرض آخر.

عوامل المخاطر

الوزن عند الولادة ومدة الحمل

الفئة الأكثر عرضة للخطر هم المواليد ذوي الوزن الخفيف للغاية ويحتاجون إلى العلاج سريعاً.  وبالمثل، هناك علاقة عكسية بين مدة الحمل وتزايد احتمال الإصابة بالمرض. 

استعمال الأكسجين 

برغم عدم التثبت علمياً من العلاقة الدقيقة بين العلاج بالأكسجين وهذه الحالة، إلا أن من الواضح أن للعلاج بالأكسجين دور مهم في التسبب فيها.  قد تؤدي الإدارة الصارمة لإيصال الأكسجين من دون تغيير وتفاوت ورصد ذلك إلى تراجع الإصابة باعتلال الشبكية لدى الأطفال الخدّج. 



الفحص

يجب فحص جميع الأطفال الذين تقل أعمار حملهم عن 32 أسبوعًا (حتى 31 أسبوعًا و6 أيام) أو من يزنون أقل من 1501 جرامًا عند الولادة للتأكد من عدم إصابتهم باعتلال الشبكية. يعتمد الوقت الدقيق الذي يتم فحصه فيه على عمر الحمل للطفل و/أو الوزن عند الولادة. تعتمد الفترة الزمنية بين الفحوصات على نتائج الفحص الأول. يجري مناقشة ذلك مع طبيب عيون الأطفال.

يشمل الفحص توسيع الحدقة (الجزء الأسود من العين) بقطرات العين للسماح برؤية كاملة للشبكية (الجزء الخلفي من العين). عقب ذلك، يفحص الطبيب عيني الطفل بأدوات تكبير مناسبة؛ وقد يلتقط صورًا للجزء الخلفي من العين.

يمكن إيقاف الفحص عند التأكد من استبعاد إصابة الطفل باعتلال الشبكية. 


العلاج

الهدف من الجراحة هو إيقاف نمو الأوعية الدموية غير الطبيعية من خلال تركيز العلاج على الشبكية الطرفية (جوانب الشبكية) للحفاظ على الشبكية المركزية (أهم جزء في الشبكية). تركز الجراحة على مناطق الندبات في الشبكية الطرفية لوقف النمو غير الطبيعي ومنع شد الشبكية.

يتوقف تحديد علاج اعتلال شبكية الأطفال الخدج على شدته (مرحلته، منطقته، ووجود أمراض أخرى)، وكذلك مدى تقدم الحالة ووزن الطفل عند ولادته وعمر الحمل والعرق الذي ينتمي إليه الطفل. 

التوقيت

عند التشخيص، يتوجب المبادرة بالعلاج، خلال يومين إلى 3 أيام من التشخيص. وذلك لأن هذا المرض يتفاقم بسرعة كبيرة وقد يسبب الضرر البالغ لعين الطفل وقدرته على الإبصار في حال عدم علاجه بدقة وسرعة.

التخدير

تُجرى جراحة اعتلال الشبكية للطفل الخديج إما تحت التخدير العام (من خلال دواء يحافظ على المريض في حالة شبيهة بالنوم العميق) أو التخدير العميق (من خلال دواء يجعله غير مدرك لخطوات العملية ولكنه ليس مخدرًا بعمق مثل التخدير الكلي).


أنواع العلاج

العلاج بالليزر

يستخدم علاج التخثير الضوئي بالليزر لحرق المناطق المحيطة بحافة الشبكية. هذا هو العلاج المفضل، لكونه الأقل حدة والأدنى ضرراً لعين الطفل. كما أن الليزر أسهل في تطبيقه في علاج حالات مؤخرة الشبكية. 

مضاعفات العلاج بالليزر:

  • حروق في القرنية والقزحية
  • الساد
  • نزف في الشبكية والجسم الزجاجي

العلاج بالتجميد 

تستخدم المعالجة بالتجميد أداة لتجميد جزء معين من العين يمتد متجاوزًا حواف الشبكية.  وهو يأتي في المرتبة الثانية بعد العلاج بالليزر لأن مضاعفاته أكثر. 

مضاعفات العلاج بالتجميد:

  • وذمة الجفن
  • جرح الملتحمة
  • نزف في مقدمة الشبكية والجسم الزجاجي
  • مضاعفات من قبيل بطء نبضات القلب والزرقة والاكتئاب التنفسي 

أدوية العامل المضاد لنمو بطانة الأوعية الدموية (anti-VEGF)

تعمل عقاقير العامل المضاد لنمو بطانة الأوعية الدموية على منع فرط نمو الأوعية الدموية في الشبكية. 

مضاعفات أدوية العامل المضاد لنمو بطانة الأوعية الدموية 

  • انفصال الشبكية
  • الساد
  • التهاب باطن المقلة
  • تقلص التكاثر الزجاجي المصاحب لاعتلال الشبكية

جراحة الجسم الزجاجي

في المرحلة المتقدمة من اعتلال الشبكية، يشمل العلاج:

بعج الصلبية – يمكن استخدامه، ويتضمن وضع شريط مرن مصنوع من السيليكون حول محيط العين. يوضع الشريط حول الصلبة، أو أبيض العين، ليدفعها أو “يبعجها”. وهذا بدوره يدفع الشبكية الممزقة إلى الاقتراب من الجدار الخارجي للعين والبقاء فيه.

استئصال الجسم الزجاجي، وهي جراحة معقدة تنطوي على استبدال الجسم الزجاجي، أو الجل الشفاف في وسط العين، بمحلول ملحي. تسمح عملية إزالة الجسم الزجاجي بإزالة أنسجة الندوب وتخفف من سحب الشبكية.  وهو ما يمنع الشبكية من الانفصال.

ما بعد العملية

إذا لم يكن الدخول إلى المستشفى ضروريًا، فستتمكن من اصطحاب طفلك إلى المنزل بعد حوالي ساعة من العملية. تتضمن رعاية المتابعة للجراحة وضع قطرات في عين طفلك (لمنع العدوى) لمدة أسبوع على الأقل.

ضماناً لشفاء العينين بشكل سليم وعدم وجود اعتلال في الشبكية، يجب جدولة فحوصات العين بناءً على تعليمات طبيب العيون. ويكون ذلك في العادة كل أسبوع أو أسبوعين.

المخاطر والمضاعفات

الهدف من جراحة اعتلال الشبكية لدى الخدج هو منع تدهور الحالة والعمى. على الرغم من أن للجراحة معدل نجاح جيد، إلا أن ليس جميع الأطفال يستجيبون للعلاج. قد يفقد ما يصل إلى 25٪ من الأطفال الذين خضعوا للجراحة بعض أو كل قدرتهم على الإبصار.

في بعض الحالات، لا تنجح الجراحة بالليزر أو العلاج بالتجميد (مما يعني أن الأوعية الدموية غير الطبيعية تستمر في النمو) وقد يلزم تكرار العلاج. إذا استمر النمو، فقد يكون من الضروري محاولة بعج الصلبة أو استئصال الجسم الزجاجي. ومع ذلك، من المهم أن تعرف أن الجراحة للمراحل المتقدمة من اعتلال الشبكية لدى الخدج لا تضمن إعادة شبكية العين لحالتها وإعادة البصر بقدرته المعتادة.

ضع في اعتبارك أنه بالنسبة لجميع أنواع جراحة اعتلال الشبكية للخدج سوف يفقد الطفل درجة من درجات الرؤية المحيطية (الجانبية). وحتى إذا توقف تدهور اعتلال الشبكية، فلا يزال من الممكن أن تتأثر الرؤية بالطرق التالية:

  • الحول: خلل في انتظام العينين
  • الغمَش (العين الكسولة): عين أضعف من الأخرى
  • حسر البصر: قصر النظر أي صعوبة في رؤية الأشياء البعيدة بوضوح
  • الزرَق: ضغط متزايد على العين بما يمكن أن يتلف العصب البصري ويتسبب في فقدان البصر.
  • انفصال الشبكية: انفصالها عن العين بما يتسبب في العمى.

وفي ظل إمكانية حدوث فقدان البصر ومضاعفات، يجب أن يخضع أي طفل خاض جراحة اعتلال الشبكية لفحوصات سنوية ومنتظمة حتى سن البلوغ.

إذا كان لديك أي مخاوف أو أسئلة أخرى بشأن حالة عيون طفلك أو علاجها، فيرجى التواصل معنا على البريد الإلكتروني: parentsupport@moorfields.ae

احجز موعد

About

Retinopathy of Prematurity (also called ROP) is an eye disease that affects many premature babies. ROP happens when a baby’s retina doesn’t fully develop in the weeks after birth.  As a consequence of premature birth, abnormal blood vessels are formed, which are fragile and can leak, scarring the retina and pulling it out of position. This causes a retinal detachment, which is the main cause of visual impairment and blindness in ROP.
Some cases of ROP are mild and correct themselves, however, others require surgery to prevent vision loss or blindness. Surgery involves using a laser or other means to stop the growth of the abnormal blood vessels, making sure they don’t pull on the retina. 
As ROP has no signs or symptoms, the only way to detect it is through an eye examination by an ophthalmologist.


Classification of ROP

ROP is categorized based on the severity of the disease into –

  • Stages (0-5)
  • Location of the disease into 3 zones (1-3)
  • Extent of the disease based on clock hours (1-12)
  • The presence of plus disease.

Risk Factors 

Birth weight and gestational age

Infants with very low birth weight are at significantly higher risk of developing severe ROP that requires treatment. Similarly, the severity of ROP is generally inversely proportional to gestational age. 

Oxygen Use

Although the exact relationship between oxygen therapy and ROP is currently not well established, oxygen therapy seems to play an important role in the pathogenesis of ROP. Strict management of oxygen delivery without fluctuations and monitoring may be associated with decreased occurrence of ROP. 


Examination

All babies less than 32 weeks gestational age (up to 31 weeks and 6 days) or less than 1501g birth weight should be screened for ROP. The exact time at which they are screened will depend on a child’s gestation age and/or birth weight. The period of time between the screenings depends on the findings of the first screening. This will all be discussed with your Paediatric Ophthalmologist.
The screening involves the pupils (black part of the eye) being dilated with eye drops to allow a full view of the retina (back of the eye). The Paediatric Ophthalmologist will then look inside the babies’ eyes with appropriate magnification instruments; they may also take pictures of the back of the eye. 
Screening can be stopped when a baby is no longer at risk of sight threatening ROP. 


Treatment

The goal of ROP surgery is to stop the growth of abnormal blood vessels by focusing treatment on the peripheral retina (the sides of the retina) to preserve the central retina (the most important part of the retina). ROP surgery involves scarring areas on the peripheral retina to stop the abnormal growth and eliminate pulling on the retina.
The decision to treat will be based on the clinical findings such as degree of ROP (stage, zone and presence of plus), rate of ROP progression, birth weight, gestational age and ethnicity. 

Timing

When indicated, treatment should be carried out as soon as possible, ideally within 2-3 days of the diagnosis. The rational is that the disease can advance rapidly and any delay in treatment will reduce the chances of success.

Anaesthesia

ROP surgery is typically performed either under general anaesthesia (medication that keeps the patient in a deep sleep-like state) or deep sedation (medication that makes the patient unaware of the procedure but not as deeply sedated as general anaesthesia).


Types of Treatment

Laser therapy 

Laser photocoagulation therapy uses small laser beams to scar the peripheral retina. This is the procedure of choice, being less invasive, less traumatic to the eye and causes less discomfort to the infant. Laser is also simpler to apply in treating posteriorly located disease. 

Complications of laser therapy include –

  • burns in cornea and iris
  • cataract
  • retinal and vitreous haemorrhage 

Cryotherapy 

Cryotherapy uses freezing temperatures to scar the peripheral retina. This has been largely superseded by laser due to its higher incidence of treatment related complications. 

Complications of cryotherapy include – 

  • eyelid edema
  • laceration of the conjunctiva
  • pre-retinal and vitreous hemorrhage 
  • systemic complications like bradycardia, cyanosis and respiratory depression 

Anti- VEGF

Antivascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) agents, which pharmacologically modify the course of this pathologic retinal vascularization can also be used to treat ROP. 

Complications of anti-VEGF include – 

  • retinal detachment
  • cataract
  • endophthalmitis 
  • contraction of ROP-associated vitreoretinal proliferations 

Vitreoretinal surgery 

In advanced ROP treatments include – 

Scleral buckling – can be used, this involves placing a flexible band, usually made of silicone, around the circumference of the eye. The band is placed around the sclera, or the white of the eye, causing it to push in, or “buckle.” This, in turn, causes the torn retina to push closer to and remain against the outer wall of the eye.
Vitrectomy – a complex surgery that involves replacing the vitreous, or the clear gel in the centre of the eye, with a saline (salt) solution. Removing the vitreous allows for the removal of scar tissue and eases pull on the retina. This stops the retina from pulling away.

After the Procedure

If admission to the hospital isn’t necessary, you’ll be able to take your child home about an hour after the procedure. Follow-up care for ROP surgery includes giving your child eye drops (to prevent infection) for at least a week.

To make sure the eyes are healing properly and that ROP hasn’t returned, eye exams should be scheduled based on instructions from the ophthalmologist. This is usually every 1-2 weeks. 

Risks and Complications

The goal of surgery for retinopathy of prematurity is to stop the progression of the disease and prevent blindness. Although ROP surgery has a good success rate, not all babies respond to treatment. Up to 25% of babies who have ROP surgery might still lose some or all vision.

In some cases, laser surgery or cryotherapy isn’t successful (meaning the abnormal blood vessels continue growing) and might have to be repeated. If the growth continues, scleral buckling or vitrectomy might have to be attempted. However, it’s important to know that surgery for advanced stages of ROP doesn’t guarantee that the retina will re-attach and sight will be restored.

Keep in mind that for all types of ROP surgery, a degree of your child’s peripheral (side) vision will be lost. And even if the ROP has stopped progressing, vision can still be affected in the following ways:

  • Strabismus: the eyes aren’t aligned correctly 
  • Amblyopia: one eye is weaker than the other (sometimes called “lazy eye”)
  • Myopia: short-sightedness or difficulty seeing distant objects
  • Glaucoma: increased pressure on the eye that can damage the optic nerve and cause vision loss or blindness
  • Retinal detachment: the retina detaches from the eye, causing vision loss or blindness

Since some vision loss and complications can occur, any child that has had ROP surgery should have regular, yearly eye exams well into adulthood.

If you have any further concerns or questions regarding your child’s eye condition or their treatment please contact us on: parentsupport@moorfields.ae

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT