إلتهاب غدد مايبوميان

ما هو إلتهاب غدد مايبوميان (MGD)

تضم غدد مايبوميان الموجودة في جفون العين نحو 25 إلى 40 غدة في الجفن العلوي، و20 إلى 30 غدة في الجفن السفلي. وتتمثل وظيفة هذه الغدد في إفراز سوائل زيتية على سطح العين. تعمل هذه الزيوت على ضمان استقرار طبقة الدمع لاستمرار ترطيب وراحة العين، مما يساعد في منع تبخر الدموع بسرعة كبيرة.

وعادة ما يحدث التهاب غدد مايبوميان نتيجة انسداد أو خلل في الغدد، بحيث لا تفرز ما يكفي من السوائل الزيتية في العين، مما يؤدي إلى تبخر الدموع بسرعة كبيرة.

وتعد هذه المشكلة سببًا رئيسيًا في متلازمة جفاف العيون، حيث ينتج عنها تبخر الدموع وجفاف العين المرافق لمشاكل في الجفون، ومنها إلتهاب جفن العين (blepharitis) أو ما يعرف بالوردية (rosacea)، وهي أمراض مزمنة يمكن السيطرة عليها بشكل جيد ووقف أعراضها، لكن لا يمكن علاجها فوراً.

عوامل تزيد احتمالية الإصابة بإلتهاب غدد مايبوميان

على الرغم من أن سبب إلتهاب غدد مايبوميان غير معروف، إلا أن هناك عددًا من العوامل المعروفة التي تزيد احتمالية الإصابة به. فالأشخاص الذين يزيد عمرهم على 40 سنة معرضون بنسبة أكبر للإصابة بالمرض مقارنة بالأطفال أو الشباب.

كما أن استخدام مستحضرات تجميل العيون تعتبر من العوامل الأخرى التي تساهم في الإصابة، فأقلام تحديد العيون وغيرها من مستحضرات التجميل قد تسبب انسداد فتحات غدد مايبوميان ، خاصة في حال عدم تنظيف جفون العين بشكل تام لإزالة كافة آثار مستحضرات تجميل العين قبل النوم.

ويعتقد بعض الباحثون أن استخدام العدسات اللاصقة قد يزيد من احتمالية الإصابة بإلتهاب غدد مايبوميان. وقد تعتبر جراحات العين من العوامل المرتبطة بهذه المشكلة حيث أن المرضى قد يتجنبون تنظيف المنطقة المحيطة بالعين لعدة أيام بعد إجراء جراحة ما. إلا ان الباحثين يعتقدون بضرورة إجراء دراسات إضافية لتأكيد الرابط السببي المباشر في هذه الفئات.

كيف يمكن علاج التهاب غدد مايبوميان ؟

العلاج الموصى به عادةً لهذه المشكلة هو استخدام كمادات ساخنة على جفون العين، يتبعه تدليك ومسح سطح العين. ويهدف هذا العلاج إلى إذابة وإخراج أي سوائل زيتية متكثفة قد تسد فتحات غدد مايبوميان ، إلا أن العلاج قد لا ينجح في بعض الحالات في تخفيف الأعراض بفعالية.

ما هي تقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة (IPL)؟

تقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة أو (Intense Pulsed Light) هي طريقة بديلة لعلاج إلتهاب غدد مايبوميان في الحالات التي لا تنجح معها الطرق التقليدية للعلاج. وهي ليست علاجًا بالليزر. وإنما يتم استخدام فلتر لإختيار نطاق الطول الموجي الأمثل والذي يجعل البشرة دافئة ويعمل على غلق الأوعية الدموية غير الطبيعية والمرتبطة بمشاكل إلتهاب الجفون والوردية، مما يقلل من الإلتهاب الموضعي، كما يحفز الإفراز الطبيعي للسائل الزيتي من غدد مايبوميان.

العلاج بتقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة معتمد ومصدّق عليه من قبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) كعلاج للوردية، كما استخدم لسنوات عديدة في إزالة الشعر وعلاج البقع الناتجة عن التعرض للشمس.

كيف يتم إجراء العملية؟

تبدأ العملية بوضع رقعة لحماية العين، ثم وضع جل مبرّد على المنطقة المراد علاجها و الذي يساهم في امتصاص جزء من الحرارة الناتجة عن الضوء المستخدم في العلاج. وبواسطة جهاز يوجّه باليد يتم إرسال نبضات ضوئية على الخد والمنطقة المحيطة. وتتطلب العملية نبضات ضوئية متعددة في هذه المنطقة.

لا يسبب العلاج بهذه التقنية أي ألم. وعند توجيه نبضات الضوء فقد يشعر المريض بشعور تنميل خفيف لكن لم يعبر أي من المرضى عن شعورهم بألم أثناء خضوعهم لهذا العلاج، بحسب خبرتنا في هذا المجال.
بعد الإنتهاء تتم إزالة الجل المبرّد ورقعة العين، ثم توضع قطرة لتخدير العين يتم بعدها ضغط غدد مايبوميان لإزالة السائل الزيتي المتكثف فيها والمتراكم في الغدد.

ماذا يمكنكم أن تتوقعوا بعد الخضوع للعلاج بتقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة؟

يلاحظ المرضى عادة إفرازات مخاطية خفيفة وشعورًا بالانزعاج أو الألم الخفيف لفترة 36 ساعة بعد العملية، وغالبًا ما تتحسن الأعراض بعد بضعة أيام من العلاج.

عادةً ما يحتاج المريض إلى ثلاث جلسات علاجية، إلا أن الطبيب قد يقرر إجراء جلسات أقل أو أكثر بحسب ملاحظاته وبحسب النتائج الفردية لكل مريض.

يمكنكم معاودة أنشطتكم اليومية الإعتيادية بعد العلاج. وينصح باستخدام واقي الشمس على المناطق المعالجة وارتداء النظارات الشمسية عند التواجد في الخارج.

تتحسن الأعراض بنسبة 82% تقريبًا بعد ثلاث جلسات علاجية بحسب الدراسات الطبية في هذا الصدد. إلا أن تحقيق هذه النسبة المرتفعة يتطلب استخدام العلاج الدوائي الذي يصفه الطبيب، بالإضافة إلى الوسائل العلاجية الداعمة الأخرى التي يراها الطبيب مفيدة في حالة كل مريض على حدة.

ما هي المخاطر المرتبطة بالعلاج بواسطة تقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة؟

تستخدم تقنية نبضات الضوء المكثفة بشكل آمن منذ سنوات عديدة، إلا أن هناك دائمًا مخاطر ترتبط بأي إجراء علاجي. ومن هذه المخاطر، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، فرط تصبّغ البشرة، نقص تصبّغ البشرة، الإلتهاب/العدوى، الألم، الندوب بعد العلاج، الحروق، خدش القرنية، تهيج العين، التحسس من العوامل الموضعية المستخدمة، بالإضافة إلى احتمال عدم فعالية العلاج. كما أن إجراء أي عملية أو إجراء علاجي قرب العين يعني احتمال تراجع قدرة الإبصار بدرجة معينة. إلا أنه لم يتم الإبلاغ عن أي إصابات في العين أو تراجع في قدرة الإبصار في الحالات التي تم فيها استخدام غطاء واقٍ للعين.

حصول PDF

العودة إلى صفحة المنشورات التعليمية

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل المنشورات التعليمية
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

Meibomian Gland Disfunction (MGD)

What is Meibomian Gland Disfunction (MGD)?

Meibomian glands in the eyelids comprise about 25-40 glands in the upper eyelid and 20 – 30 in the lower eyelid. The function of these glands is to secrete oils onto the surface of the eye. These oils stabilize the tear film to keep the surface of the eye moist and comfortable, helping to keep the tears from evaporating too quickly.

Meibomian Gland Disfunction is generally caused by a blockage or some other abnormality of the glands in which they don’t secrete enough oil into the tears, which then evaporate too quickly.

It is a leading cause of dry eye syndrome, resulting in evaporative dry eye associated with eyelid problems such as blepharitis or rosacea, which are chronic conditions that can be controlled well but not immediately cured.

MGD Risk Factors

Despite the fact that the cause of MGD is not known, we do know that there are some risk factors.

People over the age of 40 have a significantly greater risk of developing it than children or young adults.

Wearing eye makeup is another contributing cause, because eyeliner and other makeup can block the openings of meibomian glands, especially if you don’t thoroughly clean your eyelids and remove all traces of eye makeup before you sleep.

Some researchers believe wearing contact lenses may increase the risk of MGD. Eye surgeries can also be associated with MGD as patients tend to avoid cleaning the area around the eyes for several days after. However, researchers believe additional studies are needed to confirm the direct causative association in these groups.

How can I treat MGD?

The typical recommended treatment is applying local hot compresses to the eyelids, followed by massaging and wiping the surface. The goal of this treatment is to melt and express any thickened oil blocking the openings of the meibomian glands, however in some cases this won’t effectively relieve the symptoms.

What is IPL?

IPL stands for Intense Pulsed Light, it is an alternative way to treat MGD for the cases refractory to the conventional treatment. This is not a laser procedure. There is a filter to select the range of wavelengths that best warms the skin and closes the abnormal blood vessels associated with blepharitis and rosacea reducing the local inflammation and also stimulating normal secretion from the meibomium glands.

IPL is FDA (Food & Drug Administration, USA) approved for the treatment of rosacea, and has been used for many years to treat hair removal and sun spots.

How is the procedure performed?

The procedure begins with your eyes being patched for protection, and then a cooling gel is applied to the treatment area to absorb some of the heat from the light. A hand-held device is used to administer pulses of light to the cheek and surrounding area. There are multiple light pulses that are needed to be completed across those areas.

IPL is not a painful procedure. As the pulse of light is administered, there is a tingling sensation however no pain has been evidenced by patients for this procedure, based on our experience.

The cooling gel and eye patches are then removed, and after applying a drop to numb the eyes, meibomian gland expression is performed to release all of the thickened oil accumulated in the glands.

What should you expect after IPL treatment?

Patients will typically experience mild mucous discharge and irritation for up to 36 hours after the procedure and generally improve over a few days after their treatment.

Three treatments are usually needed, however the treatment may be less than this or more, depending on your doctor’s opinion and your individual outcomes.

After the treatment you can return to normal every day activities. When outdoors, the use of sunblock is recommended on the treated areas, as well as ensuring to wear sunglasses. average symptoms improve by 82% according to the medical literature.
However, this high rate can only be achieved with the supportive medication treatment prescribed by your doctor and other supporting therapy that the doctor might consider useful in your case.

What are the risks associated with IPL treatment?

IPL has been used safely for many years but there are always risks associated with any procedure. These include, but are not limited to, hyperpigmentation, hypopigmentation, infection, pain, scarring, burns, corneal abrasion, eye irritation, allergic reaction to the topical agents used, and ineffectiveness of the treatment. Whenever a procedure is done near the eye, some loss of vision must be considered a possible risk. However, in cases where eye shields have been used, no eye injuries or loss of vision have ever been reported.

Download PDF

Return to Common Eye Conditions Homepage

Share this page:

Posted in Educational Leaflets
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment